Bayerische Zugspitzbahn Bergbahn AG

Our historic mandate

The times when only a few mountain sportspersons and a wealthy minority were able to enjoy the local mountain world are thankfully long gone. Far-sighted mountain lovers formulated a "historic mandate" as early as the 1920’s: Every citizen should be able to partake of the mountain world adventure. We too feel committed to this maxim - which is why we created the means to offer disabled persons the opportunity to enter our one-of-a-kind mountain world. 

... and our primary concern

Even the very first „Sommerfrischler“(summer vacationers) appreciated early on how beneficial mountain air was to their health. They were joined over the course of time by a wide variety of winter sports enthusiasts. Focusing on the needs of classic mountain lovers, while also being open to the spirit of the times and fulfilling our "historic mandate" continues to be the vision and mission of the Bayerische Zugspitzbahn Bergbahn AG. As a modern service operator with around 300 employees, we welcome guests from all over the world all year round and provide them with the opportunity to enjoy extraordinary mountain experiences. Our greatest reward: happy faces all round – regardless of big or small, old or young!

Mountains for everyone

The basis for any sport and recreational enjoyment on the mountain is a functioning infrastructure. Development of the winter sports area around the Zugspitze initially caused numerous engineering challenges, such as the establishment of a means of ascent suited to the rugged mountain conditions. After the first cogwheel train to the Zugspitze went into operation in 1930, many more technically pioneering and reconstruction projects have been realised.

Die Bayerische Zugspitzbahn Bergbahn AG

Unser historischer Auftrag

Die Zeiten, in denen nur einige Alpinisten und eine wohlhabende Minderheit die heimische Bergwelt genießen konnten, sind zum Glück längst Geschichte. Schon in den 1920er Jahren formulierten weitblickende Bergfreunde einen „historischen Auftrag“: Jeder Bürger soll am Erlebnis Bergwelt teilhaben können! Diesem Gebot fühlen auch wir uns verpflichtet – und stellten gerne die Weichen, dass heute selbst Menschen mit Handicap problemlos Höhenluft schnuppern können. 

Schon die ersten „Sommerfrischler“ schätzten den hohen gesundheitlichen Wert der Gebirgsluft. Dazu gesellten sich im Laufe der Zeit die unterschiedlichsten Wintersportler. Den Weg für klassische wie zeitgeistige Bergerlebnisse zu ebnen, gehört für uns gleichermaßen zur Erfüllung des historischen Auftrags – und ist der Bayerischen Zugspitzbahn Bergbahn AG weiterhin Vision und Mission. Als modernes Dienstleistungsunternehmen mit rund 300 Mitarbeitern heißen wir ganzjährig Gäste aus aller Welt willkommen und ermöglichen ihnen außergewöhnliche Bergerlebnisse. Unser schönster Lohn: strahlende Gesichter auf den Gipfeln bei Groß und Klein, Alt und Jung!

Berge für Jedermann & Frau

Die Basis für jeglichen Sport- und Freizeitgenuss am Berg ist eine funktionierende Infrastruktur. So erforderte die Entwicklung der Wintersportgebiete rund um die Zugspitze anfangs zahlreiche bauliche Herausforderungen wie die Errichtung gebirgstauglicher Auffahrmöglichkeiten. Und seitdem 1930 die erste Zahnradbahn zum Zugspitzplatt ihren Betrieb aufgenommen hat, wurden viele weitere technische Pionierleistungen und Umbaumaßnahmen verwirklicht. 

Wer sich für die Entwicklung der Bergbahnen auf der Zugspitze und im Gebiet Garmisch-Classic interessiert, kann hier eine detaillierte Chronik der Meilensteine herunterladen!